I must say that I never hesitate to inform anyone interested about my nationality, am Kenyan!I say with a smile,ever.

I thought I would stop and hide this fact during the after election turmoil at my home-country, but no!Even that did not take my pride away! Hmmmm, am so proud to be Kenyan!

“oh ,so how do you feel about Obama?”

“Really, what do Kenyans say about Obama?”

“You must be so proud of Obama” Are just a few of the remarks am given by the few Americans I happen to meet.

One was particularly interesting.

“That is where a man called Obama comes from”………As if I do not know, I was about to tell him, not that Obama but Obama senior,yes!I decided to shut up! I was screwed, this person ,of about 80,yes,eighty years old, saw me in the queue. I was waiting,just like all clients to talk to this informatic Technician. He had the balls to walk right in front of me, as if i did not exist,or was I that black,we were in the dark,no lights and so…….he simply did not see me?I was mad, he however turned to me, and smiled,I gave him one of those smiles, someone who knows me would say they would rather have me say what I want than give that smile. He did not know me so it worked.I though the was a racist,a sexist or simply a don’t care!

He decided to talk “were you in the queue?”He had a good smile.

“No, go ahead ,its fine”I told him. I was full of rage though!It reminded me of those people back home who would get to a full matatu,or any public transport system and the conductor would ask you(young guys) to give them your place, dis-regardless the payment you make!This of course was before the Michuki system.

He however went on to talk about Obama,his policies,etc,etc.Things which do not particularly interest me! I could not say that its not my thing!

Could these people understand that NOT all Kenyans have a damn love for this guy Obama? I do not dislike him but the fact that he has Kenyan origins does not force me to love him!!

Have a loving day,won’t you?

